Wearing two armors – A discussion

While playtesting the beta version of the Unified Rolemaster, one of our forum members has brought up the question “how would wearing two armors work?”
He goes on to give the example of a troll, AT6, wearing plate, AT10. Despite the original question being focussed on the beta test, a number of forum members have given their two cents about how they deal with situations such as these in their games whatever version they use.
What would your ruling be? How would you deal with this in your game?
Have your say on the ICE forum.