Author Topic: Learning how to use weapons...how long?  (Read 2742 times)

Offline Grinnen Baeritt

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Learning how to use weapons...how long?
« on: March 27, 2011, 08:52:09 AM »
Having been pondering over this for a while now, and it's to do with the time and ease of learning various weapons in comparision to other weapons types.

The RM system of purchasing skills differenciates between the ease of learning by profession but not necessarily the time required... and this to a degree bugs me, or at least with regard to weapons. Eg. The difficulty of learning to use a club and longbow should be

Remembering back to when I started running RM you were required to pre-specify what ranks you were developing for the next level... or was I imagining this? This I thought made sense, since, to a degree the time required to advance a level allowed for a certain amount of inclusion of training "in your spare time". It fell down a bit at higher levels when it took longer to advance levels.

However, the problem I now have is when trying to mesh the historic fact that firearms are faster to learn to an effective degree than longbows into a points buy system for developing units for a massed combat system.

ATM I'm treating the cost of the weapon as part of the component cost of the unit... meaning that early firearms units are extremely expensive in comparision to others. For no real advantage, at least gamewise, over bows that have greater ranges, rate of fire, affordability, ease of manfacture.

I have already choosen to treat the firearms skill an everyman skill if purchsed.. which means that firearms effectively develop at twice the rate but are still balanced by the far greater cost of the weapons themselves.

Thoughts please on the training times of relative weapons and how possibly I could cope with this ambiguity. 

Offline yammahoper

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Nothing to see here, move along.