Author Topic: What Scale of Adventure do you Prefer in a Module?  (Read 2939 times)

Offline PhillipAEllis

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +30/-30
  • Ask me about the Rolemastery blog.
    • My homepage
What Scale of Adventure do you Prefer in a Module?
« on: November 20, 2012, 11:33:05 PM »
G'day!

This is a companion question to the other poll. Briefly, what scale of adventures interest you? Do you prefer shorter, smaller scale adventures, or longer, more campaign-length adventures? Do you also appreciate adventure hooks, ideas not fleshed out?

By all means, your comments are very welcome, and I hope I have (at last) allowed for more than one scale at a time (I'm still learning :) ).

Bonus question: Do you prefer the adventures and adventure hooks in one, dedicated section, or integrated into the length of a text? (For example, say I detail a village, then I could add adventure hooks alongside descriptions of places and NPCs.)

Thank you for your time and patience.
Formerly: ghyle.

Rolemastery blog: http://rolemastery.blogspot.com.au/

Offline Old Man

• Wise Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
    • The Campaign Nook
Re: What Scale of Adventure do you Prefer in a Module?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2012, 07:22:13 AM »
Bonus question: Do you prefer the adventures and adventure hooks in one, dedicated section, or integrated into the length of a text? (For example, say I detail a village, then I could add adventure hooks alongside descriptions of places and NPCs.)

Bonus-wise. My wife and I have been working on a structure where encounters tied to a location (aka "fixed") are detailed with that location. Random encounter tables and "floating" encounters (specials in an area but not fixed, available to use or not) are at the end of the module's sectiion. (Adventure hooks - if in sufficient numbers - could also be a table with the random encounters - otherwise we put them in w the locations.)

Regards,
Old Man
** Yes, some of ROCO IV and VII is my fault. **

Offline arakish