Author Topic: Arcane Magic Advice.  (Read 3209 times)

Offline LearningTheGame

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Arcane Magic Advice.
« on: September 10, 2012, 04:18:44 AM »
Hi everyone.

I'm new to RM and I'm thinking about including Arcane Companion material in game. I have some doubts and I want to read some experienced players oppinions before doing it.

Is it really so much more powerful than "standard magic" or it is just that it can produce any effect (for example, essence cannot heal...)

If other players take  "standard realm" magic users would their characters pale in comparison to the arcane caster? Is it worth playing a non arcane caster if arcane magic is allowed?

Have you included it in your game? Whats your experience with it?

By the way i have a related rules question:

If a "normal caster" develops arcane lists...Does he incur in all the penalties associated to arcane magic (Spells fail on 01-04, affect all group, power addiction...) or does he treat them just like any of his other "normal realm" lists?

What happens the other way (An arcane caster develops (for example) essence lists)

Offline DangerMan

• Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Arcane Magic Advice.
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 05:29:06 AM »
Penalties / mods are associated with the spell lists, not the caster, so a "normal caster" would still risk blowing himself up to the same extent as an arcane user.

Arcane magic is powerful stuff, but IMO not too powerful. We as good as always have an arcanist in our group, but I never felt is has broken the balance in the groups. We leave that to the talents....

I'd say go for it! Too many cool professions for that companion to be left out.
If you're having fun, you're doing it right!

Offline RandalThor

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 05:57:36 AM »
Penalties / mods are associated with the spell lists, not the caster, so a "normal caster" would still risk blowing himself up to the same extent as an arcane user.