Author Topic: What's in it for the GM?  (Read 2160 times)

Offline DangerMan

• Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
What's in it for the GM?
« on: April 24, 2011, 05:41:34 PM »
Open question; What's in it for the GM? Why do you enjoy GMing?

Im relatively new to GMing, but have played as a PC for ten years. I like it, but Im afraid I might get bored in the long rung.

What makes being the GM fun? What's the downsides, if any?
If you're having fun, you're doing it right!

Offline RandalThor

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: What's in it for the GM?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 05:59:04 PM »
Funny you should ask this, as I just asked this of myself not to long ago. and found my gaming lacking; both playing and GMing. So, now I am not gaming at all, and will not be anytime soon, as far as I can see. Oh well, I guess there are other things to do.

But, to answer your question: Fun. Just like everyone else at the table, hopefully. I find the creation of a plot, a story, and obstacles for the players to (hopefully) overcome. Actually, I find that I get bored way more as a player than as a GM - players tend to keep you on your toes.
Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Scratch that. Power attracts the corruptible.

Rules should not replace the brain and thinking.

Offline GrumpyOldFart

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Hey you kids! Get out of my dungeon!
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2011, 07:54:53 PM »
In a way it's like playing chess against half a dozen opponents simultaneously. The main difference is that they aren't really "against" you per se, it's just that if there are half a dozen players and you then there are 7 different meanings for "how this scenario should turn out", and you all get to play tug-o-war with it and see how it ends up.