Author Topic: Negatives affect Defensive Bonus (DB)  (Read 6995 times)

Offline Grafton

• Seeker of Wisdom
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Negatives affect Defensive Bonus (DB)
« on: August 31, 2007, 10:30:29 PM »
While GMingthe "Echoes of Heaven" campaign on play-by-post, I noticed that I have been playing a house rule for about 20 years. When playing negatives received in combat and elsewhere, I've always applied them for everything including Defensive Bonus (DB). I never understood how something such as a negative can't affect DB - the pain, the loss of mobility, broken bones, etc. How does a wound affect only offensive capability and not defense? I've never played any other way. Here's the low-down:

Book Rule - RM2/RM2

Negatives received in combat that are not specific to a certain skill or skills affect all skills, but do not affect Defensive Bonus (except Adrenal Defense).

In my opinion, this will make combat longer because negatives only apply to offense which will make it harder for that person to hit his opponent, but the opponent will not have an easier time hitting him.

House Rule

Negatives received in combat that are not specific to a certain skill or skills affect all skills, including Defensive Bonus. DB cannot be reduced below zero, but other skills can become negative overall.

In my opinion, this makes more sense and is more realistic because it affects both the offense and defense of the victim. In general, it should make combat go faster overall.

I've been playing with this house rule for 20+ years and think its a good option. It makes criticals with negatives important, the book rule cheapens it.

Offline yammahoper

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Nothing to see here, move along.
Re: Negatives affect Defensive Bonus (DB)
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2007, 01:35:30 PM »
Well, that earned a laugh point from me.

DB is effected.  Penalties reduce available OB, meaning there is less to potentially parry with.

OTOH, if it works for you, rock on.

lynn