Author Topic: Rolemaster Popularity with Military Personel  (Read 3531 times)

Offline bpowell

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Rolemaster Popularity with Military Personel
« on: February 03, 2012, 12:21:19 PM »
When you spend months on board a ship, you ain't got much else to do except role-play, play penny poker (we weren't allowed to play for serious money), sit around and BS, etc.  Thus, the reason I think many RPGers are military or ex-military.

rmfr

Yeah I think like 85% of my Nuc School class played.  And it was when i was at Prototype I started playing RM.

Offline arakish

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +5/-5
  • A joy of mine
Re: Rolemaster Popularity with Military Personel
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 07:50:11 PM »
Thus, the reason I think many RPGers are military or ex-military.

And on a further note, I think most military or ex-military play the RM system because of the "believable realism" since such persons get that "realism" drilled into them.  Or, like me, were actually involved in real combat.

rmfr
"Beware those who would deny you access to information, for they already dream themselves your master."
— RMF Runyan in Sci-Fi RPG session (GM); quoted from the PC game SMAC.

Offline RandalThor

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2012, 05:52:59 AM »
When you spend months on board a ship, you ain't got much else to do except role-play, play penny poker (we weren't allowed to play for serious money), sit around and BS, etc.  Thus, the reason I think many RPGers are military or ex-military.
Yeah, I can see that - I know I played a lot the one time I was on a ship - for a significant period of time. But, for me, it was mostly that I went in a gamer, as did most of the guys I played with. Some though, were just looking to excise the boredom of the barracks and such.