Author Topic: Stats and DPs  (Read 1863 times)

Offline Scorched_Earth

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Stats and DPs
« on: April 04, 2011, 08:50:07 AM »
Hi, I'm still learning RMC here, but one thing i kept thinking about is the Development Points and the way they're acquired.

I mean, why is it only the first 6 stats that affect DPs? What is the reasoning behind this?

Also, once players figures this out, won't they want to max those first 6 stats at the expense of the others? Because that's what i'd do, personally. I feel it's way more important to have ranks in skills than good stats in those, no?

Offline yammahoper

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Nothing to see here, move along.
Re: Stats and DPs
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 09:23:48 AM »
Hmm.  Use to be five stats.  Guess RMC changed a few things.

The answer is to have set DP.  Be friendly, give 50 per level.  This will allow players to take a 20 reasoning if that is his what his PC SHOULD have without being punished agin with low DP.

35 DP would probably be more high average.  I run RMSS and give 100 DP a level.  Works great.
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time... like tears in rain... Time to die.

Offline Kristen Mork

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +70/-70
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 09:44:43 AM »
It's to avoid certain stats from becoming dump stats.  Em/In/Pr are all useful in a tactical setting.  Me/Re are (for most characters) useless (especially Me).  Making the first five DP generating ensures that players think about not nuking them.

Me: Really only affects lore skills.
Re: Lore and perception.
Co: Hits and a few athletic skills.
SD: Adrenal skills!
Ag: Pretty much everything.

St: All melee attacks!
Em/In/Pr: Magic, including RRs, plus animals/perception/social.
Qu: DB and a few athletic skills.