Author Topic: Rolemaster Lite  (Read 17075 times)

Offline ironmaul

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • I'll work for free, if you can pay all my debts.
    • The Art of Rick Hansen
Rolemaster Lite
« on: January 21, 2011, 09:56:32 PM »
There has been talk about a more streamlined version of RM for an entry level for new players simular to RotG and ME RP. So I thought this would be a good place to express ideas and thoughts on the matter. In my mind it's not what to add but perhaps what to leave out. And also what good elements from other existing RM systems to add. I personally have RMC, RMSS and HARP to gleam ideas and info from. I'm not a rules lawyer so I won't have all the answers but with more imput from others will help.

Stats: For me you would still keep the 10 stats but leave out the potentials. I'd give 660 points to buy a characters stats using the HARP stat cost table.

Stat Bonus: I believe the stat bonus progression in HARP is the best out of all systems.

Development points: Grant a 1st level character the 100 DP as in HARP and the fixed 50 DP/level after that. I like this idea, makes it easy to make higher level charactes from scratch, especially if you use the Maximum Rank per Level table in HARP.

Hits: I like the base hit total(BHT) and the maximum hit total for a race in RMC but that's where it ends. I'd more than likly use Co + SD + skill rank bonus + BHT. I'm not sure on what I'd use as a Body Development skill rank bonus yet, probably RMSS race BD bonuses...?

Races: Human, Dwarf, Halflings and I guess we have to have those pansy Elves too.

Race Abilities: I'm not sure on this one, feel free to add your thoughts. But if it came to the crunch I'd probably go with RMSS.

Background Options Yep, have to add them.

Professions: Fighter,Thief, Rogue, Cleric and Mage.

Skill Progression Bonus: Going the RMC way is the easier option.

Anyway that's all I have for now, feel free to add your thoughts.

Offline Cory Magel

• Loremaster