Author Topic: New Rolemaster  (Read 6378 times)

Offline gandalf970

• Seeker of Wisdom
  • OIC Points +0/-0
New Rolemaster
« on: July 22, 2008, 08:31:31 AM »
I have been playing Rolemaster for many years and check the boards from time to time.  I remember a while back there was talk of another version of Rolemaster coming out.  Is this still being talked about or is there actualy work being put into it.  Is HARP the new RM or are we going to see something else.

Offline David Johansen

• Wise Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: New Rolemaster
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 08:48:06 AM »
My understanding is not until after 2010.  There's been much discussion of the project and a lot of thought about what it should look like.  The Combat Companion will likely be the basis for the new Arms Law.  There will probably be a three tiered skill system.  On the whole, Tim's leaning towards a tool-kit set-up the last I heard. 

Offline Rasyr-Mjolnir

• Inactive
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 10:04:40 AM »
Correct, I WANT to do a new version of Rolemaster, but it was determined that before we did a new version, we needed to recapture the old RM2 crowd, to help build our customer base to the point where we can survive a major revision. 2010 is when ICE will likely revisit the idea and start actually working on a revision (of course, that doesn't stop me from thinking about it, and occasionally doing polls or asking leading questions to help me make better plans for when we do begin official work on it...)

Some of the things I want to do or see for the new version include the following (note: nothing here is set in stone!!!):
  • Increased usage of the actual stats (i.e. currently stats are mainly used to determine bonus/dp -- and stats will be staying)