Author Topic: Killer kobolds  (Read 2848 times)

Offline Otto von Grunwald

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Killer kobolds
« on: June 30, 2008, 09:27:33 PM »
I'm pretty new to RMSS and was curious about making the existing monsters in the C&T more powerful (ie. a Kobold chief of 5th level).  I see how that would affect their hits and exp value, but can't seem to see how their other stats change: namely OB. AT(DB) will still be based on its armor and QU bonus I suppose so is not very level dependant.

Anyway, sorry if this has all been answered to death already.

Thanks! :)

-Otto von G.
Happiness isn't having what you want; it is wanting what you have.

Offline markc

• Elder Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Killer kobolds
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2008, 10:16:22 PM »
 On page 7 of RMSS Creatures and Treasures it has the info you need about level and page 9 about hits. After that you use a little GMing and give them +5OB per level or more depending on what profession you think they are or use the layman profession as a guide. I think I would leave the AT alone unless you wanted to have them wear better armor and their Qu stat may go up by 1 so add +3 ro DB. IMO this can be difficult for new GMs so I would not beat yourself up about it.

The other option I use if I determine the creature is humanoidish is just base the creatures other stats and skills off the chart in RMSS that gives skills for varous levels of a profession. So If I think he is a 5th level fighter I look at the chart and see what it says, if 7th level I take the 10th level minus the 5th level and multiply by 2/5 to get the bonus. The 2 comes from 2 levels above 5th and the 5 comes from 10th-5th level. To basicly mean he is 2/5ths the way to 10th level.