Author Topic: I return to the Fold...  (Read 3664 times)

Offline Uriel

• Initiate
  • OIC Points +0/-0
I return to the Fold...
« on: January 08, 2008, 07:49:47 AM »
Hey there all,
Please forgive the length of this post...

First a little about me as a gamer.
I first played RM back in 1987, although I bought MERP in 84/85 or so, when I first saw it in a book store. I swore off AD&D, and continued to play other RPGs (Stormbringer,CoC,Mechwarrior), as well as throwing together Homebrew Systems.
I ran a Middle Earth game from 87-89, then moved from Az to Ca, where I started another RM group (As well as Cyberspace and SM games), lasting from 90 to 95 or so, when I again moved (To Nevada).
I pretty much stopped playing games for a year or so, due to a lack of players in the small town, but when I moved back here to San Francisco (96) I started playing games again, mostly miniatures games (Chronopia,Warzone), and my homebrew.
It seemed that ICE games were a thing of the past for me...
During this time I was the general manager for a game store chain here in the Bay Area (Gamescape), though my RPG interaction was usually just derisive comments about Gurps/AD&D "If I wanted to play a fantasy RPG, it would be Rolemaster, and I don't have time for that". Miniatures games and one CCG (L5R) took up what gaming time I alloted myself.

So, along comes D&D 3.0. I laughed, said I wouldn't play, I had sworn it off etc...Then I played it, noticed the skill ranks, the crits...then spotted Monte Cook's name on it. Aha! One of the old boys from ICE, in another endeavor. Nostalgia is what really snagged me. I missed Mind Flayers, Drow, Umber Hulks and Grimlocks, Ya'Know?
I won't lie, I enjoyed it, and 3.5, and I still do (I plan on continuing two of my three current campaigns in 3.5, as they wouldn't convert well).

However...with the coming of 4.0, I haven't felt the same about d20. I found myself Nostalgic for Black Reavers, Demons Beyond the Pale, and Shards. Especially Shards.