Author Topic: Who is afraid of ...  (Read 1668 times)

Offline munchy

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
    • The Munch Companion
Who is afraid of ...
« on: June 08, 2011, 02:36:15 PM »
I was wondering whether you let enemies ... and maybe even friends ... make RR vs. fear if a character changes into a werewolf form or gets himself worked up into a berserker rage? Both events take time resp. rounds which makes them quite dangerous if the enemies are able to just attack as normal. It must be quite horrible/terrible, whichever, to see someone's body to twitch and jerk transforming in jumps and rips into something horribly between man and wolf or to grunting, growling and shouting lose his temper.
Any thoughts on that?
Get Real, Get Rolemaster!
Be Sharp, Play HARP!

Offline GrumpyOldFart

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Hey you kids! Get out of my dungeon!
Re: Who is afraid of ...
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 03:02:17 PM »
I'm still a comparative beginner with HARP, but since I'm looking into the Dark Knowledge rules I think I'd use a variation of that to resolve those kinds of situations.
You put your left foot in, you put your left foot out... Traditional Somatic Components
Oo Ee Oo Aa Aa, Ting Tang Walla Walla Bing Bang... Traditional Verbal Components
Eye of Newt and Toe of Frog, Wool of Bat and Tongue of Dog... Traditional Potion Formula

Offline Pat

• Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 10:26:25 PM »
I would think it would be the old "familiarity breeds contempt" rule. The first couple of times I might impose a fear check (for friends) but it would soon become old hat and therefore be unnececessary. For foes, I would guess it would be dependant on level and possible experience. If they are high enough level their attitude would probably be "been there, done that and bought the t-shirt" therefore a fear check would be unnecessary but low level foes may have to make a fear check (if the GM wishes it).

Offline Mitchiban

• Neophyte