Author Topic: Any pointers on creating cleric spell lists and prefered skills in Harp?  (Read 1987 times)

Offline pyrotech

• Adept
  • OIC Points +45/-45
Hey all,

I am working on my fantasy setting and have started playing around with the religions.  They don't follow the standard pantheon model very but that is OK - something a little different can be an opportunity to stand out.

I am working towards a goal of having around 60 orders, lodges, cults, and heresies to fit the more diffuse population spread of my world, but would settle for around 40.  So far I've got 15 so lots of work to do still.

I am pretty new to developing cleric spell lists and preferred skill categories though.  Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what works for you?

I've been thinking of using a model of a spell list containing 10 cleric sphere spells plus 10 others from the other spheres.  Are any of the spells near universal that should go into almost any cleric spell list?  Is it better to use more cleric shpere spells than the minimum requirement of 10 (I'm thinking it may be for my druidic lodges)?

More importantly what is a good way to handle the preferred skill categories.  Should I set the minimum 2 categories for each sect, or should I set 3 or 4 and let the player choose, or should I leave them open and let the player choose.  I'm not sure how this flexibility would affect the balance between the classes.

Any feedback you guys may have would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Pyrotech
-Pyrotech

Offline GrumpyOldFart

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Hey you kids! Get out of my dungeon!
They don't follow the standard pantheon model very but...

Can you explain the model you do use? This could make a big difference.

For myself, I consider "cleric" spells to fall into 3 categories: