Author Topic: Speed or initiative tables?  (Read 2433 times)

Offline Siggy

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Speed or initiative tables?
« on: November 05, 2018, 08:01:48 AM »
I started playing with a new GM that wanted to use the rules from RoleMaster(which I had never heard of). He didnt have the tables with him and is trying to get them from his old group. I have been able to deduce that he must have played the RMSS with his last group because instead of using rounds he used an ongoing initiative timeline instead of rounds. Ex:
I rolled 13 initiative, as my 1st action I draw my battle axe which takes 10 (initiative points?) So I resume my turn at 23. At 23 I choose to run across the room to engage an enemy. I choose to swing my weapon while I'm running accross the room so I need to make a dexterity check to make sure I can run and swing at the same time. This action will take me 30. So at 53 I get to roll my attack and damage, if the target is still there and alive. The target gets engaged by another member of our party and has his back to me to I am able to land my attack to finish off one of the bandits. I now turn to engage the next bandit, costing me 5 so I start my swing at 58. (This is where we saw the need to get the actual tables) in the 30 it will now take me to swing at the next bandit, our cleric has time to cast 3 spells, the bandit has been hit twice by the rougue and has run to the exit of the cavern.... I now feel like the only time I have a chance to hit someone is when they are distracted or stunned.

I love the concept of a fluid more realistic battle environment but we obviously didn't have the correct amount of time it took to perform various actions. Can anyone help me find these tables? Or at least point me in the right direction?

Offline eskla

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Speed or initiative tables?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2018, 09:53:08 AM »