Author Topic: Where can a noob learn how to play Rolemaster!?  (Read 2726 times)

Offline RiTz21

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Where can a noob learn how to play Rolemaster!?
« on: November 21, 2015, 10:42:48 PM »
Folks,

I will be joining a new group of players who are playing Rolemaster (4th edition) - I'm a complete noob to Rolemaster (Much of my experience is with Pathfinder/D&D3.5)

Is there a video that can teach me about the rules of Rolemaster and how the system works?

I don't have the books at this time, and the DM asked me to create a character with the RMOffice tool, in the middle earth setting...

Help!!
RiTz21

Offline markc

• Elder Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Where can a noob learn how to play Rolemaster!?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 12:28:14 AM »
The version of RM are RM1, RM2, RMSS, RMFRP, RMC and RMU (which is in beta testing at the moment). Finding out what version from those is IMHO the first step.

MDC
Bacon Law: A book so good all PC's need to be recreated.
Rule #0: A GM has the right to change any rule in a book to fit their game.
Role Play not Roll Play.
Use a System to tell the story do not let the system play you.

Offline markc

• Elder Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2015, 12:43:45 AM »
I think the RMOffice Tool is either RMFRP or RMSS as both are very close to one another.

MDC
Bacon Law: A book so good all PC's need to be recreated.
Rule #0: A GM has the right to change any rule in a book to fit their game.
Role Play not Roll Play.
Use a System to tell the story do not let the system play you.

Offline jdale

• RMU Dev Team
  • OIC Points +25/-25
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2015, 12:23:42 PM »
RMFRP and RMSS are so similar it's not worrying about the differences.

I don't know of a tutorial. It's difficult to point you at a rule summary without the rules. But that said, I think stylistically there are a few big differences between RM and Pathfinder that may be worth pointing out.