Author Topic: Seeking Ideas for an SM law enforcement campaign  (Read 4627 times)

Offline PiXeL01

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Seeing things from the top of Mt. Fuji
Seeking Ideas for an SM law enforcement campaign
« on: February 18, 2008, 06:00:56 PM »
Hey there

I am used to running fantazy campaigns, so I have little experience in running sci fi. I ran a little using the new SM rules, written by Defendi (good work), but RMFPS rules has never been me, being a veteran of RM2 for decades. This means I have picked up the old SM2 rules and started on that.

Based on my players wishes we have started a campaign where they will be on the side of the law in their region of space. This is highly unusual for me and I am more or less hitting a wall on possible scenarios to throw at them.

So I am turning to you for possible ideas of what kind of scenarios or cases they could encounter.

As for the setting itself it is more or less set close to the edge of the Empires sphere of influence. The Empire went under close to two centories ago and the galaxy is trying to pick itself up again without a common focus point.
The players are a part of MAUL, a law enforcement agency, which takes care of cases which isnt limited to a single planet, between the planets or cases such as organized crime, kidnapping and that kind of cases. A bit like the FBI I would guess.
The campaign is so far limited to five systems in close proximity which has joined together to form for a trade alliance and then a commenwealth.
As for the rest of the galaxy little is know. Long range communication was for the most part destroyed along with the empire itself so there is little contact with anyone else. A lot of information was also lost, which has set humanity as a whole back centuries even possibly millinia in technical evolution.