Author Topic: Question about game versions  (Read 3779 times)

Ramoran

Question about game versions
« on: November 26, 2007, 10:49:38 AM »
What's up, guys?  I've been playing a spacemaster game for a few months now.  The game master sort of created his own world and plot, but it uses space master rules.  Anyway, I can tell by the box and condition of the books that the version he's running is pretty old.  I've been thinking about getting some books and starting either a Rolemaster campaign or a Spacemaster campaign.  I notice there seem to be at least two to four versions of Rolemaster, but only one of Spacemaster.  Have there been any major changes to the Spacemaster system since the version I'm playing (guessing it's from the eighties or nineties)?

Offline ob1knorrb

• Revered Elder
  • OIC Points +150/-150
    • ICE Roleplaying WebRing
Re: Question about game versions
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2007, 11:51:33 AM »
There are three versions of Spacemaster, SM1, SM2 and SPAM, the one you are playing is probably SM2.  There isn't much difference between SM1 and SM2, but it did change quite abit between SM2 and SPAM (Spacemaster Privateers).  There are two major areas of change, the first is in the Campaign setting, and the second is in the Skill System.  SPAM goes to the same Category and Skill system that the two latest versions of Rolemaster have.  The earlier versions of Spacemaster don't have a category system and overall have a smaller list of skills.
More information on the individual products from each version can be found at:
http://www.icewebring.com/ice-products/spacemaster-first-edition/
http://www.icewebring.com/ice-products/space-master-second-edition/
http://www.icewebring.com/ice-products/spacemaster-privateers/
Brent Knorr...
Ringmaster:ICE Roleplaying Webring - http://www.icewebring.com

Ramoran

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2007, 12:48:46 PM »