Forum > Spacemaster

Which Spacemaster books do I need?

(1/2) > >>

Rochndil:
Good morning!

I have a Spacemaster newbie question. I'm a long-time Rolemaster player and GM, and I'm slowly ramping up to start a Shadow World campaign. Since SW has ties to the Spacemaster world, what would be the minimum/core current books to get my hands on? Is Privateers the latest evolution, or is that something separate? I don't have any real interest in starting a Spacemaster campaign, but I do need the tech references to deal with certain SW installations.

Rochndil, who has browsed some SM books, about a century ago...

GoblynByte:

--- Quote from: Rochndil on October 19, 2007, 09:24:35 AM ---Good morning!

I have a Spacemaster newbie question. I'm a long-time Rolemaster player and GM, and I'm slowly ramping up to start a Shadow World campaign. Since SW has ties to the Spacemaster world, what would be the minimum/core current books to get my hands on? Is Privateers the latest evolution, or is that something separate? I don't have any real interest in starting a Spacemaster campaign, but I do need the tech references to deal with certain SW installations.

Rochndil, who has browsed some SM books, about a century ago...

--- End quote ---

I think to get the setting that matches up with SW you'd need to look into the old Space Master 2e books.  Those are contemporary to RM2.  As for which books you'd need I'd start with the three core books (Player's Book, GMs Book, and Tech Book).  These are available through ICE in PDF format, otherwise check out eBay or other used shops.  The setting material in these books is a bit sketchy, though.  The setting for SM2 (the one that matches up with SW) is scattered across several adventure and campaign modules.  But the core books are a good primer and should be all you need to really insert technology and other external forces to SW.

yammahoper: