Author Topic: Questions about Rules to learn spells  (Read 2277 times)

Offline Vince

• Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Questions about Rules to learn spells
« on: August 17, 2007, 08:47:41 AM »
I am not satisfied about our way of learning spells . Would someone tell me about how you do that in your games? All replies will be appreciated.

This is not about development points by profession, it's about time consuming, and material avaliable.

So,in you opinion:
  *1.-you can learn a spell list without spell books? you can learn only with a master?. If it is posible learn with a master without books, if takes more time than studying?

*2.-How many time you have to spend normally studying a spell list, before you can roll the percentage to try to learn it?

*3.-The semi-spell users have to spend more time studying that pure and hybrid users?

Order of the Iron Crown

(RM2+ Shadow World+ GM)

Offline Arioch

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Blood & Souls for Arioch!
Re: Questions about Rules to learn spells
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 09:05:40 AM »
IMHO:

1.- You can learn spell lists from a book and/or from a master.

2.- Learning it from both "sources" (you study the book and the teacher show you how to do it) is the fastest way possible: 2 weeks and you can develop the first level spell of the list (just as the research time for a 1st level spell). If you have access to only one "source" you'll have to spend more time. Only from the book is IMHO the slowest way to learn something, so double the base time. Only from a master is base time x1,5.

3.- No, all users use the same time.
I suppose a magician might, he admitted, but a gentleman never could.

Offline yammahoper

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
  • Nothing to see here, move along.
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 11:17:56 AM »