Author Topic: Help with power development skill  (Read 512 times)

Offline FelGeezer

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Help with power development skill
« on: December 08, 2022, 02:53:38 AM »
I'd like to ask for a simple explanation of how power points are calculated in the new RMU rules. I've read through it a few times - can't get my head around it. The example character sheets are confusing me . I am a newbie,  guess that's obvious lol. Thanks a bunch in advance! 

Offline eulerkun

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Help with power development skill
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2022, 03:49:46 AM »
Calculate the skill bonus for Power Development as one would for any other skill. Add bonuses from Talents and items if applicable. This total is the character's Maximum Power Points. (Core Law, page 105)

Characters recover 40% of their Maximum Power Points per 8 hours of rest, adjusted proportionally for characters that require less rest. (If you only need 4 hours of rest, you still recover 40% of your PP over those 4 hours.) (Core Law, page 105)
I live only to be worthy of the corpse I shall leave behind.

Offline Hurin

• Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2022, 08:53:00 AM »
Yes, as Eulerkun notes, it is actually quite straightforward. Your total number of Powerpoints is just equal to your skill bonus in the skill 'PP Development'.
'Last of all, Húrin stood alone. Then he cast aside his shield, and wielded an axe two-handed'. --J.R.R. Tolkien

'Every party needs at least one insane person.'  --Aspen of the Jade Isle

Offline FelGeezer

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2022, 04:03:52 PM »
Thanks for responding! -That was my understanding, so in example:   a High Human (+3) Magician (+1) with Co of 90 (+8) and 2 ranks (+10) in power development could have a total of 22 PP's. That seem about right?

Offline jdale

• RMU Dev Team
  • OIC Points +25/-25
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2022, 06:01:20 PM »