Author Topic: Slew of Questions, New to HARP (long)  (Read 4781 times)

Offline Gliber

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Slew of Questions, New to HARP (long)
« on: April 14, 2009, 12:59:05 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am a veteran GM of some 25+ years with a similar amount of game systems. I'm going to be running my first game of HARP in the next two weeks and had some questions.

1) Arcane Bolt

When increasing the damage for Arcane Bolt, what does "each 1d10 hits? 5d6 max" mean? Is that a misprint and should read 5d10 max? Two separate rolls one for max damage and then another for actual damage?

2) Adventurer Profession

I understand that the Rogue is a jack of all trades, but what is the Adventurer profession then? I can explain briefly what each profession's basic concept is, but the Adventurer seems so odd.

3) Magic Spell Ranks

So I need to have a different skill for each spell that i want. If I am a Mage, I can start with one spell or twenty if I have enough ranks to spend. But if I do not have enough ranks to equal the PP for the spell, including overcasting, then I cannot cast it. What is the reasoning behind this game design decision? Does it work well in your games? The reason I ask is that the system seems so flexible in letting players try whatever they like, but this arbitrary rule seems so limiting. If I don't have a lot of ranks and want to try a big spell, why not let the player decide if he can handle the negative modifiers? I understand as a GM, I can alter whatever I want, I'm simply wondering what your take on this restriction is.

4) Combat

I made a standard fighter character as a test. Not a munchin type, just a general fighter that I felt my players might put together. He ended up with a 41 OB and a 61 DB. I'm sure he could be made offensive and might earn stronger armor, and I know that other characters (like mages) might be weaker, but I felt he was a decent balance.