Author Topic: SM2 StarShip size questions  (Read 3452 times)

Offline markc

• Elder Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
SM2 StarShip size questions
« on: June 27, 2008, 01:58:11 AM »
 I have little real world knowledge large or industrial vehicles. But a rule in Armored Assault and Star Strike have me wondering about the chage in formulas for different size ships. A medium size ship requires a larger engine then a small ship and a large ship requires a much larger engine than a medium ship.
1) Is this accurate in real life?

If so then I think I will use interpalation to make the change in engine size smooth instead of sudden changes.
MDC
Bacon Law: A book so good all PC's need to be recreated.
Rule #0: A GM has the right to change any rule in a book to fit their game.
Role Play not Roll Play.
Use a System to tell the story do not let the system play you.

Offline Defendi

• OIC Points +0/-0
  • Final Redoubt Press
    • Final Redoubt Press
Re: SM2 StarShip size questions
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2008, 03:29:28 AM »
Well, I haven't looked at those rules in a LONG time, but the bigger the vehicle, the more force required to move it.
The Echoes of Heaven:  Available for HARP and Rolemaster.  www.FinalRedoubt.com

Offline markc

• Elder Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2008, 04:02:47 AM »
Boy again, I turn my head in the middel of the night and there you are.

Yes I have both SM:P and SM2 starship and vehicle rules on top of a stack I look at often. But when I get in a Sci-Fi kick I have another stack I pull out to keep me entertained. Also I allready have them so I am not spending $ to get the info.

Yes I agree that it takes more energy to move a larger mass but what got me as I said was the economy's of scale, I think it is called in bis. That is there is some point in which you become less effecient because of the size of the operation. The SM2 rules just broke it out in set size limits to make it easy.