Author Topic: When Does RM Break Down?  (Read 7496 times)

Azaizel

When Does RM Break Down?
« on: November 21, 2007, 10:29:23 AM »
I am new to Rolemaster and am having trouble finding any information on what levels Rolemaster is designed to remain within? Does the game scale well forever or is level 50 the theoretical 'breaking point'?

Offline Justin

• Wise Elder
  • OIC Points +170/-170
Re: When Does RM Break Down?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 10:42:59 AM »
 :o  ???  :o  The concept that a character would get to lvl 20 before becoming bored with either the character or the campaign, or more likely people move away or game breaks down for one of the many other various reasons is just unthinkable to me. My first game played weekly for 1.5yrs and lvls were 8-10, the gm using in-book experience/lvling system plus bonus exp for roleplaying.
Lvl 25+ stuff is in there, but I never considered it for PC-consumption.
"Even the most free roaming video game in the world still has to rely on programmed quest resolution triggers.  Only table-top RPGs make any solution possible.  Even ones not originally intended by the GM.  You  will never replace that." --Rivstyx

Offline pastaav

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
    • Swedish gaming club
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2007, 10:59:13 AM »
Depends it a bit on which RM version.

Some of the older RM2 options contained options that would scale very badly to very high level. Yet those were options from supplements of much lower quality than anything published today. If using core rules and standard options I would say both RMC and RMFRP are stable enough to be scaled up forever.

As a pratical example my friends we had a campaign where the characters were level 20 to 35 without any balance problems.

Still even while the game engine doesn't impose any 'breaking point' I am pretty sure the players would like new characters sooner or later since things become boring when you have done things enough times.
/Pa Staav