Author Topic: Newbie HARP questions  (Read 5739 times)

Offline wheelercub

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Newbie HARP questions
« on: March 11, 2008, 08:07:24 PM »
Hey gang - sorry if some of these have been covered, but I'm brand new to HARP. That said, I'm an old, old, old, MERP and Rolemaster fan from back in the day. So much so, that I had every book released and inadvertently memorized many of the rules over time. That said and after about a 15 year vacation, I've recently decided to jump back on the bandwagon. From what I've read, HARP is a very impressive system. But before I make my purchase, I wanted to get some input/feedback on a few things I found confusing.

1) I was thinking of purchasing the HARP Hardbound Value Pack 1 which includes the books listed below. My first question is whether or not these are part of the HARP Revised Editions or the old rules? If they don't include the revised editions, where can I get them and if they do include them, what types of materials are in the revised editions?
    * #3000h HARP Hardbound (reg. $33)
    * #3001h Martial Law Hardbound (reg. $28)
    * #3002h Monsters: A Field Guide Hardbound (reg.$30)
    * #3003h College of Magics Hardbound (reg. $30)
    * #3004h Loot: A Field Guide Hardbound (reg $30)

2) I read somewhere that the main hardbound book comes with a character generation CD. What's the story with that? Is it only for the primary classes or can it be applied to all the additional classes and add on spells?

3) What is the CD ROM like? I stumbled upon this, and I like the idea. Is it a searchable tool or is it just the regular PDFs on a CD ROM? Are the other materials available on other CD ROMs?

http://shop.ironcrown.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7_8&products_id=490