Author Topic: Getting into RM, question about books  (Read 1397 times)

Offline BrotherOats

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Getting into RM, question about books
« on: June 28, 2018, 11:24:27 AM »

Hi all!

I’m just getting into RM. (I’ve played MERP before.) After doing some research, I decided that of the several editions, RMC will likely work best for me: crunchy but not too complicated.

So far, I have purchased the following Rolemaster Classic titles:
•   Character Law
•   Creatures and Treasures
•   Spell Law
I will grab a copy of Arms Law very soon. I just need to trade in some more stuff for store credit.

What else should I get?
 I understand that RMC is backwards compatible with the old RM materials. Are there any RM2 titles I ought to consider?
Anything in other editions?

Offline BrotherOats

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Getting into RM, question about books
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2018, 03:03:10 PM »
It occurs to me this one might be better off merged with another poster's thread.

'RMC books'

Offline Druss_the_Legend

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2018, 03:21:39 AM »
iv found RM Companion I and II the most useful for fleshing out rules and adding more professions. The skills descriptions and skill costs tables in RMC II - I have really found super useful and I use them as the master set of costs for my campaign.

Although all of these rules can likely be found online as PDF files is always good to have them in a physical rulebook to keep track of things specific for your own campaign. I have a player who searches the internet for spells and rules for his RM character and while this can add something extra it can also be a nightmare to maintain some control and balance of your campaign world/

Offline BrotherOats

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2018, 11:54:26 AM »
Thanks for the tips!