Author Topic: Aborting Spell Prep Rules  (Read 178 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NicodemusRa

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Aborting Spell Prep Rules
« on: November 20, 2021, 11:30:38 AM »
Hello all,

Try as I might I can't seem to find what the rules are for aborting Spell preparation at the start of a round.

I checked into the "canceling actions" section but there is no rules here. Is this  covered elswhere?

I'm beginning to think that its just as easy as saying unless you declare you want to continue preparing the spell (or cast it in  phase) you can just "drop it" (pondering making you still spend the PP) and declare your actions as normal?

Am I missing something?

Thanks

Offline Hurin

  • Loremaster
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,513
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Aborting Spell Prep Rules
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2021, 01:44:15 PM »
Which edition of Rolemaster are you asking about?
'Last of all, Húrin stood alone. Then he cast aside his shield, and wielded an axe two-handed'. --J.R.R. Tolkien

Offline NicodemusRa

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Aborting Spell Prep Rules
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2021, 02:15:22 PM »
RMFRP is what we are currently playing (should have included that in my original post)

Offline netbat

  • Initiate
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Aborting Spell Prep Rules
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2021, 04:21:39 PM »
I am pretty sure you can just stop preparing and have no ill effects at all before you declare your action for the round. If you cancel after declaration, I think it falls into the >60% activity canceled option. There have been a number of discussions on whether you can interrupt preparing a spell without losing the prep - just search  for "spell preparation" and a couple of them will come up.
There is no frigate like a book to take us lands away -
                                                   Emily Dickenson

Offline NicodemusRa

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Aborting Spell Prep Rules
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2021, 08:00:15 PM »
good call, thanks, looks like someone can drop it during their declare, and move onward