Author Topic: Level Bonus Table Option  (Read 1025 times)

Offline Brecco

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Level Bonus Table Option
« on: September 20, 2021, 02:16:00 PM »
Hello,
I'm very new to the system and I'm having difficulties understanding the 09-07 table in RMC Character Law book. My question is do the numbers in the table (ie +2 to outdoor skills for animist) apply to the d100 roll for the Foraging secondary (for example), or do they increase the rank of Foraging by 2 per character level?
Thank you!

Offline RandalThor

• Sage
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Level Bonus Table Option
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2021, 08:23:43 PM »
Those are bonuses to the skills not ranks. Using your example, a 10th level character would have a +20 bonus to Outdoor skills in addition to what their number of ranks and attribute bonuses grant them.

I am not 100% sure if those translate to Secondary Skills, though if I was the GM they would/could.

PS: Welcome to the club.
Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Scratch that. Power attracts the corruptible.

Rules should not replace the brain and thinking.

Offline Hurin

• Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2021, 10:35:07 PM »
To be clear, I think these are what we call the 'level' bonuses. Professions give bonuses to skills, and the bonus is based on the character level. So, if you take a profession that gives +2/level, you get a special +2 bonus to the skill every level. By level 10, to use RandalThor's example, that bonus would be a total of +20.
'Last of all, Húrin stood alone. Then he cast aside his shield, and wielded an axe two-handed'. --J.R.R. Tolkien

'Every party needs at least one insane person.'  --Aspen of the Jade Isle

Offline Brecco

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2021, 10:21:05 PM »
That perfectly answers my question, thanks a lot!

Offline Grinnen Baeritt

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0