Author Topic: What's the deal with Evil Spell Lists?  (Read 1737 times)

Offline thrud

• Revered Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
What's the deal with Evil Spell Lists?
« on: September 30, 2020, 05:03:13 AM »
I'd greatly appreciate hearing some thoughts on how to use evil spell lists.
Now, I am a RM veteran and I'm very familiar with pretty much everything Rolemaster. When I ask question here on the board, I'm usually interested in minute details and interpretations to see how other GM's are doing.

In RMFRP it's explicitly stated that only pure users have access to the evil lists. But, in FRP basic rules there are no hybrids.
The evil spell users are referred to as Evil Cleric, Evil Magician, Evil Mentalist, etc.
In Channeling companion one example of a hybrid specialty priest is the Necromancer. The Necromancer in the example given has access to Evil lists, and is a hybrid.

So... Who (pure, hybrids, semi,...) has access to Evil spell Lists and why? Given it's an evil user of course.

My personal opinion: I feel both pure and hybrids should have access at the very least.
Why not allow semi's access? They only have 6 baselist slots anyway. The best selling point for evil has always been the promise of power. It's supposed to be seductive... Why would anyone risk the evil path if there wasn't any real gain?  ;D

As a small by question: Why should only the pures get 10 baselists? I only see meta-gaming reasons. An attempt at nerfing hybrids, but maybe I've missed something?

Offline markc

• Elder Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: What's the deal with Evil Spell Lists?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2020, 01:46:10 PM »
I am not sure about the RAW, but here is my experience:

0) Evil Spell Lists are more powerful then other spell lists
1) Was taught RM2 and in that setting anyone (PArm, SS, PS, Hy) could use Evil Spell Lists but in the game setting their were prices to be paid.