Author Topic: Breaking Invisibility...what's an attack?  (Read 355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rerednaw

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Breaking Invisibility...what's an attack?
« on: June 30, 2020, 09:08:18 AM »
Yep.  I was reading the various spell lists with Invisibility spells.  They say refer to 7.1.10 for what counts a breaking Invisibility.

Quote from: Spell Law 7.1.10
"(e.g., attacking, receiving a violent blow, etc.), "

What's an attack?  I could write a scathing review of a bard's performance.  Push a button (sounds an alarm).  Push a button (triggers the trapdoor beneath the party). Say "attack!"  - which could trigger an ambush or maybe send my pet attack dog in. 

Do you count only direct offensive action (weapon use, spell that causes direct damage or debilitating effects) or what?  Subject to house ruling?  Indirect attacks (ordering your companions to attack) count?  I personally lean towards the former (direct action.) but was wondering if there was an official FAQ on this :)

Offline jdale

  • RMU Dev Team
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,298
  • OIC Points +25/-25
Re: Breaking Invisibility...what's an attack?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2020, 10:19:18 AM »
I would say if you either make an attack roll or parry. Whispering the words "kill them" may have an offensive intent, but the rule is about movement, not intent.

In RMU, invisibility is also ended by casting a spell of type F or E. Those will often entail a resistance roll or attack roll, but not necessarily.
System and Line Editor for Rolemaster

Offline Rerednaw

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Breaking Invisibility...what's an attack?
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2020, 05:56:35 PM »
Thanks! That makes excellent sense. :)