questions about spellcasting

Started by Pyopel, August 12, 2025, 05:53:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Pyopel

Hi, I've some questions about spellcasting and, though I checked both the books and the forums, I can't find answers.
1) do spells require a line of sight? if so what is considered a break in said line? I'm thinking espacially about a moving creature, same size of the target? bigger?
2) is it possible to move when casting a spell?
3) what does exactly "concentrate on a spell" implies? the caster can do anything at a -50? even cast another spell?
extra question, not related to spells but similar to #2: is it possible to move when reloading a missile weapon?
Thanks

tallfoolvictor

Hi Pyopel,
As the gamemaster you can always make your own rules.  That said, it sounds like you want an official rule from the books.

#1: Whether or not a line of sight is needed would depend on the spell.  For example, Elemental bolt (p133 of the core rulebook) states, "Caster fires a bolt of elemental energy..."  That suggests the bolt needs to travel from the caster to the target.  In contrast, the spell "Shock" (p137) states, "Caster causes sudden, electrical activity within the target..."  In the case of the shock spell I feel that line of sight is not required provided the caster is able to accurately sense the target.

#2: Based on the description of actions in a combat round on pages 90 and 91 of the main HARP book the answer seems to be that a caster should not be able to move while casting a spell.  That said...  if you are using the college of magics and the caster is using a focus style that does not seem to prohibit movement then some movement might be allowed.  For example, if the spell caster using the focus style: "Trance" they probably should not move while casting.  In contrast if the caster is using the focus style: "Song" then you might allow them to move (at their BMR) with a penalty.  (That is my own rule.  I don't think the books mention anything like that.) 

#3. Even when a spell caster is under the effects of a Haste spell they can only cast one non-instanteous spell per round.  Generally, casting a spell requires the caster's undivided attention though the caster is still aware of their surroundings.

Extra Question: Reloading a bow and moving...  This is not allowed however a GM might allow movement at BMR while reloading but apply a penalty to their defensive bonus.  (Again that would be my rule.)  Check p90 and 91 of the core book. 

Moving and casting (or reloading) would be allowed if the character is under the effect of a Haste spell (at the discretion of the GM.)  If a character is under the effect of a Haste spell and needs three rounds to cast a spell and they are using the focus style "Trance" then I would not allow them to move.  If they were using the focus style: "Gestures" I would allow the player to allocate one action per round to casting and another action to movement.

I hope this helps...