Author Topic: Elemental (E) Spells  (Read 3123 times)

Offline Aotrs Commander

• Initiate
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Elemental (E) Spells
« on: December 28, 2008, 07:34:31 AM »
This may seem like an odd question to ask after nearly twenty years of playing the game, but we've never really had very high level spellcasters, even when we've been playing fantasy and not Spacemaster. This is compounded by the fact I started playing at eleven and so never really got to the grips with the subtleties of the magic system and just sort of muddled through in later years. Now we've got an Archmage whose not had 20-odd years of Rolemaster experience and with RMC especially I realise that we've not been doing spells quite right and I've had to do a bit of careful re-reading.

In particular, I'm having difficultly nailing down E spells. Elemental Attack/Ball spells I get, Force spells (i.e Base Attack Spells), Defense, Healing, Utility etc etc. However, Elemental, while in the key, is not described in the text of (RMC) Spell Law - it goes straight from defensive to force.

Now, pretty much for the last umpteen twiddly yonks we've just been treated such spells as creating the element in a real sense (like it says in the key). I.e. Wall of Fire is real, actual fire and you don't get an RR if you walk through it, same as if you walk through a bonfire. (This is, at least, right, I know). But what about, say Stun Cloud? Should you get an RR for that? Or is it, as I have been doing, something you can't avoid and you just get criticalled to the face if the mage casts it on you?