Author Topic: Magic Shield Vs Steel Skin  (Read 1752 times)

Offline Exluso

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Magic Shield Vs Steel Skin
« on: September 08, 2019, 01:40:44 PM »
Hello all,

since this is my first post on the forum let me thank ICE for feeding me with good RPGs for so long. Although I am a player of old times, I am quite new to HARP, so I will probably bother you with few questions. Hopefully on different topics not to mix up things.

My first question is about the two Warrior Mage Spell:
Magic Shield and Steel Skin.
Under which condition the former is more convenient than the latter?
Magic shield is more expensive, has less duration and gives a lesser bonus and only against one enemy.
Steel skin is a full round armour.

I suspect that Steel Skin should not be usable when the caster is wearing a real armour, but that's not mentioned in the description.

Am I missing something?

Thanks for the help!

Offline Exluso

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: Magic Shield Vs Steel Skin
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2019, 05:38:11 PM »
Guess I've found my answe on pag 94, "Armor terminology".
Use only the best armor in each loacation

That fixes my lack of confidence in my understanding ;D

Offline Zhaleskra

• Wise Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2019, 10:20:51 PM »
While I'm not sure it's the intention, my interpretation of the hits by location and armor rule is that it refers to physical armor in crits that result in "armor destroyed" text. I see no logical reason why a warrior mage wearing actual armor would prevent them from using spell armor, other than the difficulty incurred by casting penalties.
#LotorAllura2024

Offline Exluso

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2019, 04:22:53 PM »
Hi Zhaleskra,
Thanks for jumping in.

I create confusion in the opening post. Well I was confused too.

Now I think wearing an armor does not prevent to cast the spell, is just that the two armors bonus do not stack.