Author Topic: Questions on SM privateers 'performing actions'  (Read 2471 times)

Offline JMF

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Questions on SM privateers 'performing actions'
« on: March 19, 2009, 05:42:13 PM »
Hey guys,

I'm new to SMP (played rolemaster many years ago), and I have to say that I'm a bit confused about some of the action rules in the SMP book.  I've read them a couple times, and I've obviously overlooked something.

p59 - common actions table t-3.2
snap actions, normal actions, deliberate actions allow 20%, 50%, and 80% of total activity respectively.  If a Melee attack takes 60-100% action, and normal action only gives you 50% activity to play with, then does that mean you're always at a negative when melee attacking in normal action (I assume that can't be the case, but I'm not getting the numbers here)?

Also, how does someone perform an action that takes 100% of their activity without taking negs if all the action phases don't allow 100% activity?  Are you supposed to start the action in one phase and complete it in another?  If so, what bonus or neg do you use?  ex: you do 20% of the action in normal, and finish in deliberate, so do you add +10?

As you see, I'm obviously missing some nuance here.

p72 - conflicting actions
in this section, it lists an example of conflicting actions - the marine is going to jump out of the window and Kregan wants to hit him before he can do so.

I like the idea that it allows the players to be reactive, but what I don't get is that it seems to ignore the initiative rule.  Shouldn't the guy with the higher initiative get to go first?  If you can ignore initiative in this situation, in what other situations can you ignore initiative?  Ex: why couldn't a player with a crap initiative roll get around it by saying that he wants to knock someone's gun away before the guy with the gun (and higher initiative) can shoot him?