Author Topic: RM2 Questions  (Read 1088 times)

Offline BigSteph75

• Apprentice
  • OIC Points +0/-0
RM2 Questions
« on: November 14, 2019, 09:03:14 PM »
Hello buddies, I started playing RM2 again and I must say that after 25 years the pleasures are still at the rendez vous. You will see me publish often in the coming months because the questions are jostling quite a lot. It must be admitted that Rolemaster's books are not so in order. ;)

So A character who is attacked by surprise having failed his orientation roll, Still get his Quickness Bonus?  Also how do you manage opposition skills. EX: Stalk and Hide VS Perception.

Thank you in advance and see you very soon.

Offline Thot

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Re: RM2 Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2019, 09:59:55 PM »
I am not sure how RM2 handles it and don't want to look it up right now, but how I handle it is:
  • Yes, quickness applies as long as the character is aware of the attack.
  • Opposing rolls are just resolved by comparing the roll results. E.g., one character has 141, the other 142, so the second one wins.

Offline Hurin

• Loremaster
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2019, 11:58:21 PM »
RM2 Arms Law and Claw Law, p. 13, section 4.4.3, 'Quickness Stat Bonus': 'A defender only has his Quickness stat bonus factored into his DB if he is aware that he is in a combat situation and is free to move.'
'Last of all, Húrin stood alone. Then he cast aside his shield, and wielded an axe two-handed'. --J.R.R. Tolkien

'Every party needs at least one insane person.'  --Aspen of the Jade Isle

Offline Spectre771

• Revered Elder
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2019, 11:26:06 AM »
RM2 Arms Law and Claw Law, p. 13, section 4.4.3, 'Quickness Stat Bonus': 'A defender only has his Quickness stat bonus factored into his DB if he is aware that he is in a combat situation and is free to move.'