Author Topic: Newbie looking for information  (Read 4546 times)

Offline Carnus

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
Newbie looking for information
« on: December 06, 2007, 05:21:54 PM »
Hi guys

I have been roleplaying for around 17 years. I have played many many games but my groups default fantasy game has always been D&D. Over the past 5 years we have played it exclusively and over that time we have found more and more limitations with the system and the style of play that D&D promotes, and with the announcement of 4th edition it is the straw that broke the camels back. So to cut a long story short, I am looking for another fantasy RPG to take its place.

I played a few games of Rolemaster in the early nineties and still remember them fondly (if only we had a dedicated RM DM back then).

I need a few answers from you guys before I make my decision on what system to choose.

Why should I choose Rolemaster as my groups Fantasy RPG. Sell it too me, give me what makes it great and why you guys still play and love it?

Are there rules that are not as polished as others and stand out during game play?

How does Rolemaster compare to other classic RPG's which have been re-released like Runequest?

And last but not least if I choose Rolemaster which books are a must purchase and the bit that confuses me is do I go RM classic or RMFRPG? (I think thatÂ’s the correct acronym)

Thank you in advance for your time guys in helping me out.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2007, 08:27:36 PM by Carnus »

Offline maikeru

• Senior Adept
  • OIC Points +0/-0
    • Dungeon Raiders
Re: Newbie looking for information
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2007, 06:39:17 PM »
Well, as an unbiased view, and member of the RMC team. I would probably recommend RMC. Especially if you have fond memories of RM2.

To clarify my unbiasedness, I joined the RMC team as a newb. I have never played RM except a brief game of MERP.  I have come to love it, since I had to read it, and re-read it and so on and so forth.