Author Topic: EarthNode Radii  (Read 1896 times)

Offline arakish

• Navigator
  • OIC Points +5/-5
  • A joy of mine
EarthNode Radii
« on: December 11, 2011, 01:29:28 PM »
Since I work as a GIST (Geographic Information System Technician), I finally had a fuzzy1 on viewing EarthNode sizes using a real world example.  I will refer to EarthNodes as Node(s) hereafter.

Thus, I created Node sizes using the ArcMap Multi-Buffer function.  Since I had ALL orthophotos for New Hanover County in North Carolina, I decided to use Wilmington, NC as the basis for the Node radii.  The center point for each radii is the intersection of Front Street and Market Street (Wilmington's postal center point).

Each set of 10 radii is based on a certain radius as listed with each image.  For example, the first image shows the set of radii equal to 10 feet each radius, ranging from 10ft to 100ft.  The bottom image shows the set of radii equal to 1000 feet each radius.

I created this so GMs could get a decent idea of the size of a Node when they want to set Nodes to size classes.  For example, on my world of Onaviu, I have set Nodes to 6 size classes: Lesser (up to 25ft), Minor (50ft), Major (100ft), Greater (250ft), Superior (500ft), and Supreme (1000ft).  Some GMs may want smaller size classes, some larger.  The below images with real world constructs should help some in deciding the size classes you may want.

I some of the images, you will see the battleship USS North Carolina.  The North Carolina is 728 feet long with an extreme berth of 108 feet.

Enjoy.

Radii = 10 to 100 feet

Radii = 25 to 250 feet

Radii = 50 to 500 feet

Radii = 100 to 1000 feet

Radii = 250 to 2500 feet

Radii = 500 to 5000 feet

Radii = 1000 to 10,000 feet

rmfr

1P.S. - "Fuzzy" is the name a previous RPG group came up with around 1989 to call those thoughts that "just suddenly pop into your mind coming from nowhere."