Author Topic: EP System  (Read 3691 times)

Offline jps

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
EP System
« on: July 26, 2008, 10:54:03 PM »
Hello

I run RMC and RMFRP games but I've never used the EP assignment system before since I fear it would slow down the game a bit too much. Still, I'm wondering at which pace would my player's PCs level up if I used the official way to give EPs. I made a few calculations on the top of the hat and it seems to me the pace would but much faster than those we currently enjoy in our gaming sessions. For a 4th level party scenario featuring 1 lvl 10 opponent (a creature they've never fought before), one lvl 8 et 6 lvl 5 (not at the same time naturally) and let's say around 10 significant maneuver rolls, the EPs I should grant  would be over 10 000 per player (counting idea points and everything). Thus a challenging scenario could shoot you from one lvl to the next. Maybe I forgot something since I just jolt down a few numbers here and there to make my calculation on a purely theorical level (it wasn't even based on an actually scenario). Is there somebody here who could give me some insight about official EPs awarding guidelines and how fast do the PCs level up using these mechanics ?
thx

Offline Ecthelion

• ICE Forum Moderator
  • OIC Points +0/-0
    • Character Gallery
Re: EP System
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 02:10:59 AM »
We used to use the official RMFRP ExP rules for many years and I confirm that using them it often happened that the PCs advanced a complete level after one combat & maneuver-heavy session. Please note though, that the RMC core ExP system does grant much less ExP than the RMFRP system, at least when not using the RMC optional rules.

Offline jps

• Neophyte
  • OIC Points +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 08:51:04 PM »
Thanks for the input Ecthelion. Conspicuously the PCs are supposed to level up much faster than what we're doing. I bought RMC-Pdf and I'll check out these optional rules

Offline runequester